Skip to main content Skip to footer
SVSU logo on a blue tessellated background with

STEPS to SOAR

Your first step to becoming a Cardinal and the first step in your first-year orientation sequence is SOAR (Student Orientation & Academic Registration).

SOAR Programs are offered from May through July, and all incoming first-year students must attend SOAR in order to enroll at SVSU. At SOAR, you will meet with an academic advisor to discuss your major and register for your first year of courses, learn about financial aid and important academic resources on campus, and connect with your new classmates and learn how to become involved on campus!

2019 SOAR Dates

Tuesday, May 14 FULL
Friday, May 17  FULL
Thursday, May 23  FULL
Wednesday, May 29  FULL
Friday, May 31  FULL
Wednesday, June 5 FULL
Friday, June 7 FULL
Tuesday, June 11 FULL
Friday, June 14 FULL
Wednesday, June 19 FULL
Friday, June 21 FULL
Friday, June 28 FULL
Thursday, July 18 Closed
Tuesday, July 23
Tuesday, August 13

 

Steps to Register for SOAR:

  1. Activate your SVSU username and password at www.svsu.edu/changepassword. 
  2. Go to my.svsu.edu and login using your SVSU username and password.
  3. Locate the "Self Service (Cardinal Direct)" box in the left column, and select the "Students" tab.
  4. Before attempting to select your SOAR date, click on the "My Financial Account" tab, and select "Make a Payment."
    Screenshots
  5. Follow the prompts through the CashNet system to submit your $95 non-refundable orientation fee via e-check or credit card.
  6. Once you have submitted your payment, return to the "Students" tab and select the "New Student Next Steps" tab. Then select "Orientation Registration"
    Screenshots
  7. Complete this form to select your SOAR date.  Be sure to click Submit and review your confirmation details.‌  â€Œ

‌If you have any questions or need assistance with this process, please contact the Office of Orientation Programs at 989-964-4070 or orientation@svsu.edu. 

Need to Change Your Reservation?

If you need to change your SOAR date, you can do so online. Simply log in at my.svsu.edu and go to the "Orientation Registration" page, and select a new date.

If you have any questions or difficulties registering for your SOAR program, please call us at (989) 964-4070

Contact Us

orientation@svsu.edu
(989) 964-4070(989) 964-4070

Office

Wickes 117